CTA Consortium

The global group of institutes and scientists contributing to CTA

»CTA is a global effort with more than 1,400 scientists and engineers from about 200 institutes in 31 countries involved in directing CTA's science goals and array design.«

CTA Consortium

The CTA Consortium includes 1,420 members from more than 200 institutes in 31 countries. This group of institutions is currently responsible for directing the science goals of the observatory and is involved in the array design and supplying components (as in-kind contributions). Its internal authority, the Consortium Board, includes representatives from each of the Consortium institutes and is responsible for endorsing all major Consortium decisions.


The Speakers and Publications Office (SAPO), which is responsible for reviewing all CTA publications and contributions to conferences (i.e. abstracts, talks and proceedings), also falls under this group. Learn more about CTA publications in the Library.



The Consortium meets twice annually. The next meeting will be 3-7 June in Lugano.


Spokesperson: Werner Hofmann

Co-Spokesperson: Rene Ong


Chair, CTA Consortium Board: Jürgen Knödlseder

Consortium Science Coordinator: Stefan Funk

Consortium Deputy Science Coordinator: Emma de Oña Wilhelmi

Chair, SAPO: Jean-Pierre Ernenwein

Vice-Chair, SAPO: Vitor de Souza

Click on the country below to see the member institutes.


Department of Applied Physics, University of Miyazaki

Department of Earth and Space Science, Graduate School of Science, Osaka University

Department of Physical Science, Hiroshima University

Department of Physics and Astrophysics, Nagoya University

Department of Physics and Mathematics, Aoyama Gakuin University

Graduate School of Science, University of Tokyo

Department of Physics, Kindai University
Department of Physics, Konan University

Department of Physics, Kyoto University

Department of Physics, Rikkyo University

Department of Physics, Tokai University

Department of Physics, Yamagata University

Faculty of Science and Engineering, Waseda University
Faculty of Management Information, Yamanashi-Gakuin University

Faculty of Science, Ibaraki University

Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Saitama University

Hiroshima Astrophysical Science Center, Hiroshima University

Institute for Cosmic Ray Research, University of Tokyo

Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research (ISEE), Nagoya University

Institute of Particle and Nuclear Studies, KEK (High Energy Accelerator Research Organization)

Institute of Space and Astronautical Sciences, JAXA
Institute of Socio-Arts and Sciences, University of Tokushima
Kobayashi-Maskawa Institute (KMI) for the Origin of Particles and the Universe, Nagoya University

Kumamoto University

Riken, Institute of Physical and Chemical Research
School of Allied Health Sciences, Kitasato University
Tokai University Hospital

University of Tohoku, Astronomical Institute

Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kyoto University

Argonne National Laboratory

Astronomy Department, Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum

Department of Physics and Astronomy and the Bartol Research Institute, University of Delaware

Department of Physics and Astronomy, Barnard College; Department of Physics, Columbia University
Department of Physics and Astronomy, Iowa State University

Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Los Angeles

Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Utah

Dept. of Astronomy & Astrophysics, Pennsylvania State University,
Department of Physics, Purdue University

Department of Physics, Washington University
Enrico Fermi Institute, University of Chicago

Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology, Department of Physics and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Stanford University

Santa Cruz Institute for Particle Physics and Department of Physics, University of California, Santa Cruz

School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Minnesota

School of Physics and Center for Relativistic Astrophysics, Georgia Institute of Technology

Texas Tech University

University of Alabama in Huntsville – Center for Space Physics and Aeronomic Research
University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa – Department of Physics and Astronomy

University of Hawai’i at Manoa

University of California, Davis

University of Iowa, Department of Physics and Astronomy

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Yale University, Department of Physics and Astronomy