The governing bodies of the CTA project

The CTA Observatory gGmbH (CTAO gGmbH) is the interim legal entity in the preparation of the design and implementation of the CTA Observatory until the final legal entity, a European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC), is achieved. The CTAO gGmbH works in close cooperation with the CTA Consortium (CTAC) that is contributing to the definition of the instrument design and the scientific programme.

CTAO Council


The CTAO is governed by the CTAO Council, composed of shareholders from 11 countries and one intergovernmental organisation (ESO), as well as associate members from two countries.



Chair, CTAO Council: Markus Schleier

Vice-Chair, CTAO Council: Massimo Cappi

Managing Director, CTAO gGmbH: Federico Ferrini

CTAO Council Members and Associate Members

Member Country Institute Delegates Country Entrance Year
Australia Australia Astronomy Limited Gavin Rowell, James Murray 2018
Austria Leopold Franzens Universität Olaf Reimer 2016
Czech Republic Institute of Physics of the Academy of Science of the Czech Republic Petr Travnick, Marek Vyšinka 2015
France Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) Vincent Poireau, Martin Giard 2016
France Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives (CEA) Patricia Roussel-Chomaz 2016
Germany Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY) Christian Stegmann 2014
Germany Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG) Sabine Krabichler 2016
Intergovernmental Organisation European Southern Observatory (ESO) Xavier Barcons, Nikolaj Gube 2019
Italy Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica (INAF) Filippo Maria Zerbi 2014
Italy Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN) Marco Pallavicini
(Statement M.Pallavicini)
Japan University of Tokyo Masahiro Teshima 2015
Slovenia University of Nova Gorica Danilo Zavrtanik 2018
Spain Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC) Inma Figueroa, Rafael Rebolo 2015
Switzerland Université de Genève Teresa Montaruli, Xavier Reymond 2014
United Kingdom UK Research and Innovation – The Science and Technology Facilities Council Grahame Blair, Colin Vincent 2015

CTAO Council Meetings


The CTAO Council meets on a regular basis but at least once per year. The meetings are not open to the public and are attended by shareholder delegates and their experts, associate member delegates, CTA spokesperson(s), the chair of the Consortium Board and the Managing Director assisted by the Technical Director/Project Manager, the Scientific Director/Project Scientist and additional members of the company at the Chair’s discretion. Other persons whose presence may be required (e.g. external auditors) may be invited by the Chair with the Council’s approval. Summaries of the meetings and other project updates are reported in the CTA Newsletter via the message from the Managing Director.


Next Meeting

29th Council meeting

17-18 November 2022


16-17 November 2021

4 November 2021

16-17 March 2021

17-18 November 2020

29-30 June 2020

11-12 March 2020

18-19 November 2019

10 September 2019

17-18 June 2019

7-8 March 2019

13-14 November 2018

19-20 June 2018

1-2 March 2018

12 January 2018

14-15 November 2017

11-12 July 2017

8-9 March 2017

14-15 November 2016

26 September 2016

13-14 June 2016

6-7 March 2016

13 November 2015

15-16 July 2015

25-26 March 2015

22 October 2014

5 September 2014

Subordinate Bodies


Administrative and Finance Committee (AFC)
Purpose: To advise the Council on matters of administrative and legal issues of financial management.
Chair: Chiara Guccione


In-Kind Review Committee (IKRC)
Purpose: To assess the process of calls for in-kind contributions to the CTA Observatory, evaluate proposals received, provide recommendations on the selection of the proposals to the Council and to advise on the contracting and reviewing process of in-kind contributions.

Chair: Richard Schilizzi

Vice Chair: Christian Fabjan

Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC)

Purpose: To advise the CTAO Council and provide advice and recommendations based on the assessment of the scientific and technical activities carried out for the CTA project.
Chair: Adrian Russell

Next Meetings

AFC Meeting

26 January 2023



STAC Meeting

5, 6 and 7 September 2022

Bologna (Italy)