Opportunities for collaboration in the construction of CTA


CTA is a global endeavour expected to cost in the region of €300 million for equipment and an additional 1,500 person-years of effort. The telescopes will be designed and provided by international consortia of scientists as in-kind contributions to the observatory. The supporting buildings and infrastructure will be procured directly by the Observatory itself and managed by the project office.

Industry Procurement Opportunities

CTA’s procurement initiative is to collaborate with industry in an open and unbiased way in order to achieve the best possible results for the execution of its mission.


Industry opportunities will be available over the life of the project with both the CTA Observatory gGmbH and its international consortium design teams. This will include collaborations with organizations that include but are not limited to research and development companies, manufacturers, site services and installation firms, power/data transmission specialists and technology systems vendors.


This page will promote the limited invitations to tender for CTA’s buildings and infrastructure and other central facilities managed by the CTAO gGmbH. Those interested in opportunities with the consortium design teams are encouraged to contact the team leaders found throughout the Project pages of this site or the national/regional representatives listed below directly.

Current CTAO gGmbH opportunities:

Nothing to report. Please check back.

Current member countries with regional industry contacts:

Gavin Rowell, University of Adelaide

Elisabete M. de Gouveia Dal Pino, Instituto de Astronomia, Geofisica e Ciencias Atmosfericas – Universidade de Sao Paulo


Andreas Reisenegger, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile

Elina Lindfors, Tuorla Observatory, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Turku

Jim Hinton, Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics, Heidelberg

Stefan Schlendstedt, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)

Julia Tjus, Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Varsha Chitnis, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research

Masha Chernyakova, Dublin City University

John Quinn, University College Dublin

Nicola Giglietto, Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare

Giovanni Pareschi, Istituto Nazionale di AstroFisica

Masahiro Teshima, ICRR, University of Tokyo

David Berge, University of Amsterdam

Jacek Niemiec, H. Niewodniczański Institute of Nuclear Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences

Juan Calvo, Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias

Yvonne Becherini, Linneuniversitetet

Teresa Montaruli, Université de Genève

Achim Vollhardt, Universität Zürich

Mimmo della Volpe, Université de Genève

Roland Walter, Université de Genève

Dr. Saran Poshyachinda, National astronomical Research Institute of Thailand

Paula Chadwick, Durham University

Garret Cotter, University of Oxford

Tim Greenshaw, University of Liverpool

Jon Lapington, University of Leicester

Bohdan Hnatyk, Astronomical Observatory of Kyiv National University

David Kieda, University of Utah

Nepomuk Otte, Georgia Institute of Technology