CTAO School

One School, Two Locations, Full Experience

In June 2024, the CTAO gGmbH and the LST Collaboration will carry out the first CTAO School. This two-week workshop is aimed at early-career scientists (graduate – master and PhD – students or Postdocs, with no more than two years of experience in the field) who want to begin or delve deeper into CTAO science and technology, as well as data analysis. As an international, enriching experience, the first week will take place in Bertinoro (Italy), from June 16-19, while the second will be carried out on La Palma (Spain), from June 22 – 29.

During the two-week school, participants will have the chance to develop hard and soft skills with experts in the field, including:

  • Learning about current hot topics in Very High-Energy (VHE) Astrophysics from international experts;
  • Learning how to write a successful scientific proposal;
  • Performing real observations with the LST-1, the prototype of the Large-Sized Telescope;
  • Performing data analysis both on real and simulated data;
  • Presenting their current scientific projects to peers and lead the discussion.

Additionally, students will also have the opportunity to attend scicomm workshops on how to present their results to a general, non-expert audience, as well as visiting several facilities located on top of the Roque de los Muchachos Observatory on the island of La Palma, site of the CTAO Northern Array.


To ensure a fulfilling, interactive educational experience, both in theoretical and hands-on sessions, the school will accept a maximum of 25 participants. Learn more about the school and apply on its dedicated webpage: 

CTAO School


The Scientific Board, responsible for the programme definition, is composed of experts in the field with a diverse expertise and background (in alphabetical order):


Fabio Acero – CNRS/IAC

Jonathan Biteau – IJCLab, Orsay

Patrizia Caraveo – INAF

Juan Cortina – CIEMAT/IAC

Elisabete M. de Gouveia Dal Pino – Univ San Paulo

Emma de Ona Wilhelmi – DESY

David Green – MPP

Jamie Holder – University of Delaware

Daniel Mazin – ICRR

Lars Mohrmann – MPIK

Abelardo Moralejo Olaizola – IFAE

Cristian Vignali – University of Bologna

Gabrijela Zaharijas – University of Nova Gorica

Roberta Zanin – CTAO (Chair)

The organization of on-site activities is carried out by (in alphabetical order):

Bertinoro (Italy)

Tiziana Abegg – CTAO

Michelangelo Bottura – CTAO

Andrea Bulgarelli – INAF

Vito Conforti – INAF

Paolo Da Vela – INAF

Alba Fernández-Barral – CTAO

Stefano Marchesi – INAF

Eleonora Torresi – INAF



La Palma (Spain)

Paolo Calisse – CTAO

Pilar Coca Llano – CIEMAT

Juan Cortina – CIEMAT (Co-Chair)

Alice Donini – INAF

Alba Fernández-Barral – CTAO

Patricia Márquez – IFAE

Daniel Mazin – ICRR

Mireia Nievas – IAC (Chair)

The CTAO School is organized by the CTAO gGmbH in cooperation with the LST Collaboration. The first week of the school in Bertinoro is funded by the Cherenkov Telescope Array Plus project (IR0000012; CUP C53C22000430006) within the Italian Resilience and Recovery Plan (PNRR), as an activity led by the University of Bologna. The second week is supported by funds from the Spanish Ministry for Science and Innovation and the Japanese Institute for Cosmic Ray Research.


See contributors on the Organizers page.